Small victory the sole survivor – Tamborine vandalism

Here today, gone tomorrow

Here today, gone tomorrow

IMG_0783IMG_0785
– I went off the mountain this morning to sing. There was a single tree still standing. I didn’t know if it would still be there when I returned. It was the best thing I could have done. I asked that it be saved and it was. It seems it was on council land and as I’d complained about the trees removal, it was saved Later I met the owner and told him how furious I was as I said: What a mess! He came up with the standard reply up here, its only a pine tree. I pointed out its a carbon pump.processing CO2 at a significant rate He said he’ll plant natives and I pointed out it will take about 80 years for Bunya pines to mature. He certainly won’t be around. So a small victory. In my visualization for  the future I want to live in a places where trees are valued as habitat, as a means of balancing the carbon on the planet, as Bill Neidjie, Aboriginal elder from Kakadu says: Listen carefully this, you can hear me. I’m telling you because earth just like mother and father or brother of you. That tree same thing; Your body, my body I suppose. I’m same as you…anyone. Tree working when you sleeping and dream. Bill Neidjie, 1989

Pin photo on MediaPin

Pin photo on MediaPin

Pin photo on MediaPin

Pin photo on MediaPin

3 thoughts on “Small victory the sole survivor – Tamborine vandalism

  1. There should be a law that if you chop a tree down, you have to plant two! I’d still rather see the old ones left standing though. What will future generations think of our negligence?

    Like

  2. The coffee constantly inclinations absolutely great made
    that way and really definitely will give you a jolt as part of the morning
    unfortunately it is truly a great maker not the coffee maker now not
    best if you like the mug of coffee within the morning.
    I’d feel extremely amazed if you could notice this Western Bend fast – Drip 10-mug coffee maker for sale anywhere, but you are adequate to obtain the used definitely one internet based, possibly through craigslist, e – Bay, otherwise Bid – Cactus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

